Kingsbridge Teaching School Hub


Teaching school hub long logo

Teaching school hub square logo

Formed in January 2020, Kingsbridge Teaching School Hub was one of the Department for Education’s (DfE) six Test and Learn Teaching School Hubs (TSHs) initially operating as Teaching Schools South West.

The designated area for Kingsbridge Teaching School Hub includes 317 schools, comprising primary, secondary, specialist, PRU and alternative schools across the following Local Authority Districts:

  • Exeter
  • Plymouth
  • South Hams
  • Teignbridge
  • Torbay
  • West Devon



Following the de-designation of Teaching School Alliances (as of the end of the academic year 2021-2022), Teaching School Hubs are instrumental in the first part of the Department for Education’s review of the current structure of system leadership led by high achieving schools. Kingsbridge Community College is the lead school for Kingsbridge Teaching School Hub.

“We are testing out fundamental reforms: a change in the nature of the relationship between DfE, TS Hubs and schools that need support, training and professional development.”

Department for Education Teaching School Hub Academic Year 2019/20 Delivery Plan Completion Guidance | November 2019

With a designated area composed of Local Authority Districts, Teaching School Hubs are intended to ensure maximum coverage of schools with no ‘cold patches’ and are therefore larger and designed to work at a scale for effective outcomes and give confidence to the system.

Specific Key Performance Indicators are linked to policy aims and progress regularly reported to the DfE in a Delivery Plan and ensures a closer relationship between Kingsbridge Teaching School Hub and the Department for Education.

Key responsibilities for Kingsbridge Teaching School Hub include:

  • Continuing Professional Development (supporting delivery of DfE, EEF and Curriculum Hub Offers)
  • Initial Teacher Training
  • Early Career Framework
  • Appropriate Body
  • National Professional Qualifications (NPQs)

You can read more about Teaching School Hubs on the Department for Education website here

In the spirit of a collaborative partnership of mutual support and common goals, Kingsbridge Teaching School Hub works closely with the following MATs, Curriculum Hubs and Research Schools:



  • Exeter Consortium Schools’ Alliance
  • Plymouth Teachers and Schools Alliance
  • South West Specialist Schools Teaching Alliance 
  • SWIFT South
  • Torbay Training School Alliance




Research School


 CPD Providers


In January 2021, as part of the DfE’s next phase of Teaching School Hubs, Kingsbridge combined with newly designated TSH, Colyton Grammar School, and which covers East Devon, Mid-Devon, North Devon and Torridge. Together, Colyton and Kingsbridge Teaching School Hubs operate as South West Institute for Teaching (SWIFT).

See the SWIFT website here

As a “Two Hubs One Model” approach, Colyton and Kingsbridge Teaching School Hubs (SWIFT) are responsible for delivering the core TSH activities and supporting schools across the region, by effectively combining resources to better meet the specific needs of all schools, â€‹regardless of type, size and location.

Combined expertise has created a strong, mature partnership that acts as a multiplier within the education system across the region. SWIFT values ensure that teachers and leaders are supported to improve the educational outcomes for all children and young people, especially disadvantaged groups. Hence the "more than" principle enshrined in the SWIFT logo.

You can read more about SWIFT’s Visions and Values here and Partners here


Kingsbridge is currently supporting schools on the following:

Early Career Framework

Part of the Department for Education’s Teacher Recruitment and Retention Strategy, from September 2021, SWIFT will be working with national provider Teach First on the DfE’s Early Career Framework (ECF). A statutory package of high-quality professional development (training, support, and resources), the ECF supports Early Career Teachers (ECTs) and their Mentors in the first two years of teaching.

*From September NQTs will be re-named Early Career Teachers (ECTs). ​

You can read more about the SWIFT Early Career Framework here

Appropriate Body Service

From September 2021, the statutory assessment of Early Career Teachers is also changing to a two-year streamlined SWIFT Appropriate Body service for primary and secondary ECTs that corresponds to the Early Career Framework.

SWIFT will support schools to meet the new statutory guidance through moderation, quality assurance and fidelity checks, to ensure that ECTs are fairly and consistently assessed so that ECTs receive a programme of support and training based on the Early Career Framework.

Schools are able to combine the SWIFT ECF programme with the ECT Appropriate Body assessment package.

You can read more about the SWIFT Appropriate Body service here

Reformed National Professional Qualifications (NPQ’s)

From September 2021, SWIFT is working in partnership with Teaching School Hub, OneCornwall, Leading Schools South West (LSSW) and Teach First to offer schools the following full suite of reformed NPQs:

Leadership National Professional Qualifications (NPQ):

Three new specialist NPQs replacing the current NPQML (12-month programmes):

  • NPQLBC: Leading Behaviour and Culture
  • NPQLT: Leading Teaching
  • NPQLTD: Leading Teacher Development

Three revised NPQs (18-month programmes):

  • NPQSL: Senior Leaders
  • NPQH: Headship (including a new programme of support for newly appointed Headteachers)
  • NPQEL: Executive Leadership

You can read more about the reformed NPQs and find information about scholarships here

For more information about SWIFT’s Teaching School Hub Programme see here

Follow us on Twitter @KingsbridgeTsh for news and updates about programmes and events.


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now